Mt Bogong 6 day circuit

Victoria specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
Victoria specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

Mt Bogong 6 day circuit

Postby gumnut » Sun 15 Dec, 2019 1:30 pm

Complete newbie here, so please forgive any errors. I’m planning a 6 day circuit from Mtn Ck as follows:

Day 1 - Mtn Ck to Maddison Hut Ruins via Staircase Spur
Day 2 - Maddison Hut Ruins to Edmonson Hut
Day 3 - Edmonson Hut to Tawonga Huts via 333, plus Mt Jaithmathang summit
Day 4 - Tawonga Huts to Spring Sadddle Hut Ruins
Day 5 - Spring Saddle Hut Ruins to Bogong Creek Saddle via Black Possum Spur
Day 6 - Bogong River Saddle to Mtn Ck via Eskdale Spur

I’ve done all of this walk three years in a row up to Tawonga Huts as I usually exit at Diamantina Hut via Diamantina Spur - Feathertop - Razorback. My question relates to Spring Saddle Hut Ruins as a campsite for night 4. I’d love something along this section that is “scenic” and has a water supply close by. Is there a better campsite enroute from Tawonga Huts that won’t make Day 5 too much longer than planned.

Anything else that is useful to know in terms of side trips e.g around West Peak would be much appreciated.

TIA
Last edited by gumnut on Sun 15 Dec, 2019 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
gumnut
Nothofagus cunninghamii
Nothofagus cunninghamii

Region: New South Wales

Re: Mt Bogong 6 day circuit

Postby north-north-west » Sun 15 Dec, 2019 5:15 pm

Having gone down Black Possum Spur, I don't envy you hauling a pack up it.
Only alternative I can think of to Springs Saddle is Bogong Jacks, but that's a fairly short day from Tawonga. Although you could go Edmonsons, Cope, Bundara, Jim, Tawonga, and then Jaithmathung the next day and continue along the ridge to the Fainters. Don't know how much scrub there is along there these days, but it's always been clear in the past when I used to do it.