3p lightish tent suggestions?

Bushwalking gear and paraphernalia. Electronic gadget topics (inc. GPS, PLB, chargers) belong in the 'Techno Babble' sub-forum.
Forum rules
TIP: The online Bushwalk Inventory System can help bushwalkers with a variety of bushwalk planning tasks, including: Manage which items they take bushwalking so that they do not forget anything they might need, plan meals for their walks, and automatically compile food/fuel shopping lists (lists of consumables) required to make and cook the meals for each walk. It is particularly useful for planning for groups who share food or other items, but is also useful for individual walkers.

3p lightish tent suggestions?

Postby Ms_Mudd » Tue 30 Jun, 2020 9:12 am

I seem to have a gap in my gear set up. I have been using a cheaper 3p tent for the last 3-4 years. It is an earlier version of this tent, the colours and even the brand is different but essentially it is the same tent. Mine comes in at 3.7kg though as I replaced the tent pegs with something that will actually hold the tent up and perhaps the older version used heavier fabric. https://www.snowys.com.au/howqua-3-hiki ... k7EALw_wcB

I have used it on quick car camping road trips with my husband and I, camping at horse shows with the kids and even on overnight walks with the kids (hello 21kg pack pour moi :shock: ) . So you could say it has served it's purpose and would continue to do so. A few years ago a zipper got stuck on it, they replaced it with a brand new fly, so the customer service on a cheap tent was surprisingly good. However it has a few limitations and going forward it would be good to have something a little more specific to my needs.

Its limitations are -
* jerk to pitch, so many points to stake out
*can sag in the rain, it is a constant effort of tensioning and tweaking to stop pools of water forming on the fly
* getting in and out of the vestibules in a heavy dew, let alone rain, leaves you soaking wet